Tags

, , ,

Corn was on sale at the grocery store this week (4 for $1) and I couldn’t resist.  I bought four ears of corn before I knew what I would make with it.  I had just made some sweet corn salad and wanted to do something different this time.  I found a recipe for quick chicken corn chowder in my Cooking Light cookbook and decided to give it a try.

I did this the hard/long way and bought a roasted chicken from Costco and hand-shredded the meat.  I used fresh corn and it took about fifteen minutes to shuck the corn, wash it, pick off the fine silken corn hairs, and then cut the kernels off the cob.  So this soup wasn’t very quick to make, but if you use frozen corn and have some chopped cooked chicken handy, it would probably take ten minutes or less to throw this soup together.  I didn’t have any thyme handy, so didn’t add it, but if you got it, toss it in to give the soup some extra flavor.  🙂

The verdict…I love this soup!  Its very light and refreshing.  Each bite of corn is a burst of sweetness, and the chicken helps make this soup heartier and more filling.  I will definitely be making this soup again this summer.

Quick Chicken Corn Chowder, adapted from The Best of Cooking Light

2 T butter
¼ c. chopped onion
¼ c. chopped celery
2 T. all-purpose flour
4 c. 2% reduced-fat milk
2 c. chopped roasted skinless, boneless chicken breasts (about 2 breast halves)
1 15 oz can cream-style corn
2 c. fresh or frozen corn kernels (about 4 ears of corn)
Ground black pepper and salt to taste
 
Melt butter in a large Dutch oven over medium heat.  Add onion and celery and cook 3 minutes or until tender, stirring frequently.  Add flour, cook 1 minute, stirring constantly so flour doesn’t burn.  Pour in the milk and add the remaining ingredients.  Bring to a boil and cook until thick, stirring frequently. 
 
Makes 8 servings, of about 1 cup each