Tags

, , , , , , ,

The weather is getting hotter, which means, we need something nice, cool and refreshing to eat for dinner.  When its 80 degrees inside, I certainly don’t want to be slaving over a hot stove or using the oven to bake potatoes.  Oh no.  Enter corn salad.

I’ve actually made this before and instead of digging through my binder of recipes, this time I actually used the search feature on my site to find the recipe, haha.  How handy is that?

I did change the recipe a little bit to use what I had on hand.  I’ve been trying to use up what we have in the fridge and have been basing my menu planning off of what we already have.  This batch of corn salad used:

  • six ears of fresh corn
  • about two cups of black beans
  • a can of white kidney beans
  • two orange bell peppers, diced
  • three Roma tomatoes, diced
  • four stalks of green onion, diced
  • half a bunch of cilantro, chopped into little pieces

For uniformity, I tried to chop the bell peppers, tomatoes and green onions about the same size as the beans and corn.  Check out this post for the actual recipe.  This salad is best served chilled, so prepare to make it a couple of hours in advance and let it cool before placing in the refrigerator.  Letting the salad sit for a little bit in the fridge also allows the flavors to meld.

Hubby and I love this salad.  It is healthy, low fat, low calorie, and flavorful.  The beans help make this salad quite hearty, so it can work well as a main dish or as a side. Its perfect now that corn season is beginning and corn is starting to go on sale again.

To her credit, Baby Girl gave this salad a try and tasted a piece of corn, a black bean and a kidney bean.  Spit them all out.  Maybe its the vinegar dressing that she didn’t like, or the texture.  Who knows.  She’s entered a picky phase where she’ll only eat yogurt, oatmeal, puffs and cookies.  So frustrating!