Tags

Julie_and_Julia_Book_Cover1

Just about every food blogger who’s seen this movie must be blogging about it or something related to it.  Or maybe not.  But I’ll throw my two cents in anyway, mainly because the movie got me thinking about two things: discipline and goals.

I saw this movie this past weekend with friends and I was struck by how much discipline Julie had to cook over 500 recipes in 365 days time.  That makes for a lot of time in the kitchen, to say the least.  She probably had to cook at least one dish a day to make it through the book in just a year….cook after coming home from a long day of work, cook on the weekends…diligently go out, buy ingredients, cook and blog about it.

I’m not sure I have the same level of diligence.  I used to, back in college, when I had tangible deadlines for papers and assignments, but not anymore.  And those days are behind me.  Which brings us to goals…

One of the major driving forces for Julie was meeting her one year goal/deadline.  If I made similar goals, would I be able to do what she did?  I’m not talking about building a famous blog that later becomes a book that later becomes a movie.  I mean taking on a seemingly impossible work-heavy task voluntarily and seeing it to completion.

The idea of picking a cookbook and going through it, cover to cover, intrigues me.  I probably wouldn’t pick Julia Child’s cookbook, but there are a couple cookbooks that I’ve been wanting to go through.  Hmmm…..

Inspired.   🙂

As for the movie itself, I won’t say too much since not everyone has seen it, but it was cute, entertaining, funny and yes, thought-provoking.  Meryl Streep did a fantastic job as Julia Child and I wouldn’t be surprised if she gets some kind of award or recognition for her role.  I’m glad I went to see it.

