Tags

, , , , ,

Korean Fried Tofu

One of my favorite things about Korean grocery stores is the variety of ready-made banchan (side dishes) on display.  Piles of clear plastic containers sit to one side, and people can select which banchan they want and how much.  When I was living in San Francisco, I often visited Kukje Market in Daly City.  I’d usually get chopped kimchi, Korean fried tofu, and at least one more dish, then take it all home and eat it with rice.  Instant feast!

Happily, I’ve found a fantastic recipe for Korean fried tofu from Joanne Choi’s Week of Menus.  I was surprised at how easy it is to make this dish at home.  Just a few basic ingredients for the sauce and voila, a delicious Korean banchan dish on the table in 15 minutes or less.  I’m definitely adding this to my to-go list of recipes.  Check out her post for the recipe–I don’t want to repost it here, especially as I didn’t change or alter anything.

