Tags

, ,

Green onions, thyme and oregano

Sorry for the lack of posts lately!  My latest little project has been my garden and that’s where a lot of my meager free time has gone.  It started with one sweet basil plant, then when I discovered how nice and convenient fresh herbs are, my garden project ballooned. Now my little patio garden has two types of tomatoes, mint, sweet basil, oregano, lemon thyme, green onions, sweet mini bell peppers, lavender and garlic chives.  Its so convenient to just step outside, snip off the amount of herbs I need, and step back in and continue cooking.  I always disliked making trips to the grocery store for things like basil, only to use 2 tablespoons worth and waste the rest because I can’t use it all up in time.  Now, problem solved.  I can’t wait until we buy a house and I can start my own victory garden, admittedly inspired by White on Rice Couple.  My favorite plant of the bunch is the French lavender…maybe because it smells lovely and reminds me of the lavender farm we visited in Maui.

Lavender

By the way, no go on the condo/townhome we looked at on Monday.  Hubs didn’t like it and my MIL felt the fung shui was bad.  I did too actually.  It was on the end part of a cul-de-sac and the front door opened right out onto the street, such that we could look down the entire length of the street.  I almost could feel our luck and fortune flowing down the steps, out the front door and into this river of a street.  Plus the garbage room for part of the complex was right next to the assigned parking space, which was right outside the condo’s back door.  That’s just gross.

