This past month I’ve been working 12-hour graveyard shifts several times a week.  At my job, we’re required to rotate between graveyard shifts and daytime shifts every month, which kills me, as I try to adjust and readjust to a new sleeping and life schedule every few weeks.  The hardest part about a graveyard shift is staying awake for the hour-long drive home.  The bright sun in my eyes makes me squint, even with sunglasses.  My squinty eyes soon start long blinks as I fight to keep my heavy eyelids open.  I know, I know.  Dangerous.  So usually I’ll pull over, sometimes two or three times, during the ride home to take a quick nap before continuing on my way.

Work has been particularly busy this week, bordering on out-of-control and I’ve been quite stressed out.  Hubs knew this and decided to buy a little treat for me.  I called him on my way home and all he would tell me is that he bought me a treat and it would bring a smile to my face.  He thought I needed something to cheer me up, so he went out last night to go shopping.  When I got home, I saw this:

Cupcake from Hubs

It did indeed bring a smile to my face!  Doesn’t it look delicious and almost too good to eat?  A chocolate cupcake with white chocolate shavings, topped with frosting, topped with fresh blueberries and blackberries.  You can’t see it, but underneath the white chocolate shavings is a milk chocolate shell.  Decadent to say the least.  I’ve been craving cupcakes for two weeks now, but have been too lazy to make them and our local grocery store never seems to carry them for some reason.  Well, they do have those “cakes” made of hordes of cupcakes topped with a single thick layer of frosting on top, joining them together to mimic a cake.  Which I would never get, because it has 1,000,000 calories.  (Not really, but probably close.  The nutritional info isn’t on these bakery labels.)

Hubs is definitely the best…treats in the past have consisted of chocolate fudge cake slices, strawberry jasmine green tea boba with coconut jelly (my fav), and donuts.  All probably unhealthy, but lets face it.  After a crappy work week, WHO CARES about eating healthy??  Sometimes you just gotta indulge.

