Tags

, ,

Seafood pasta with white wine sauce

So I’m told we need to eat food with more color.  The more variety of color in a dish, the better and healthier it is.  Plus, the medley of colors in the meal above make it seem all the more appetizing, IMO.  I’ve been trying to eat healthier this year.  Its a work in progress though.  The break room at work seems to be always stocked with all sorts of chocolates, brownies, cookies, chips, etc, which is always so tempting…

This dish is both delicious and pleasing to the eye.   I adapted this recipe from Giada De Laurentiis’ new cookbook “Everyday Pasta.”  I did have to change some things, ie instead of Pinot Grigio, I used a generic brand of Chardonnay Blanc because its what we happened to have in the house.  Also, instead of littleneck clams, which I could not find, I found some steamer clams at our local Trader Joe’s, already seasoned with garlic and butter.  The sauce was a little thin for my taste, so I thickened it up with about 1 tablespoon of cornstarch.  All in all, the dish turned out marvelous and is one I’d definitely make again.

Spaghetti with Pinot Grigio and Seafood, adapted from “Everyday Pasta”

1 pound spaghetti
1/4 c. olive oil (I actually only used about 3-4 tablespoons and felt it was enough)
3 shallots, chopped (I used 1/2 small onion)
3 garlic cloves, minced
3/4 c. chopped oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes
1 1/2 c. Pinot Grigio or other dry white wine
1 pound large shrimp, peeled and deveined
2 pounds littleneck clams, scrubbed
1 t. salt
1 t. freshly ground black pepper
2 c. arugula, tough stems removed

Boil a large pot of salted water over high heat.  Add the pasta and cook until al dente, stirring occassionally, approximately 8-10 minutes. Drain.

Meanwhile, heat the olive oil in a heavy skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the shallots and garlic, cook for 3 minutes until tender but not brown.  Add the sun-dried tomatoes and cook for another minute.  Add the wine, shrimp and clams.  Bring the liquid to a boil, then reduce the heat, cover and simmer until the shrimp are pink and the clams have opened, approximately 7 minutes. Discard any unopened clams.

Add the spaghetti to the skillet with the seafood mixture.  Season with salt and pepper.  Stir to combine, gently folding in the arugula.  Place on a serving platter and serve immediately.

Serves 4-6.

