Tags

, ,

Miso-glazed salmon

We don’t eat salmon very often, but when we do, I usually make Firecracker Salmon or simply salt and pepper both sides and grill it.  This time, I was feeling adventurous.  Plus I wanted to add a new salmon recipe to my repertoire.

So here we go, miso-glazed salmon, a surprisingly easy and quick salmon recipe.  It literally took five minutes to prep, ten minutes to broil, and voila, ready and on the table in no time flat.  Perfect for weeknights or busy days.

The salmon turned out nicely with a slightly sweet, slightly subtle savory miso glaze.  However, the delicate miso flavor was thoroughly overpowered by the salmon–I would consider increasing the amount of miso used next time and see if that makes any difference.  I also didn’t baste the salmon midway through broiling it–I didn’t catch that I was supposed to (original recipe didn’t reflect the need to do so until almost the very end of the recipe).  That might have also made a difference.  I’ve edited the recipe slightly so that others won’t make the same mistake.

All in all though, it was a nice, easy salmon dish, one that I would go back to in the future, but perhaps with some adjustments.  :)

Miso-Glazed Salmon, adapted from The Best of Cooking Light

1/4 c packed brown sugar
2 T hot water
2 T low-sodium soy sauce
2 T white miso
4 (6-oz) salmon fillets, about 1 inch thick
Cooking spray
1 T chopped fresh chives

Preheat broiler.

Combine first four ingredients in a small bowl, stirring with a whisk.  Arrange fish in a shallow baking dish coated with cooking spray.  Spoon miso mixture evenly over fish, reserving some miso mixture for basting.

Broil for 10 minutes or until fish flakes easily with a fork, basting twice with remaining miso mixture.  Sprinkle with chives.

Serves 4.

Miso-glazed salmon overhead

