Tags

, , , , ,

Side plum wine chicken

If you’ve read my other post on what to do with leftover wine, you know that Hubs and I are not big wine drinkers.  When I cook with wine, I’m always left with half a bottle of unfinished wine.  The Chinese side of me hates letting this go to waste, so I’ll usually rack my brain over what else I can do with the wine.  Besides drink it of course.  I’ve never worked with plum wine prior to this recipe, but googling around and finding this gave me some inspiration for tonight’s meal.  I may try that recipe in the future with duck…duck and plum sauce seem to go together very well.  As for the wine, one of these days, we might learn to appreciate wine, but I’d say I’m more of a mixed drinks kind of gal.

Plum Wine Chicken

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-size piecesPlum wine chicken in pan
1 red bell pepper, sliced into bite-size pieces
2 green onions, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium onion, sliced into half-moon rings
2 T. vegetable oil
1-1/2 c. low-sodium chicken broth
1 c. plum wine
Kosher salt
Fresh ground black pepper
Parsley flakes, for garnish

In a large pan, heat vegetable oil over medium heat.  Once oil is sizzling, add minced garlic, sauteing for approximately 30 seconds until garlic has begun to turn a light golden brown. Add the onions and saute an additional 3 minutes or until onions begin to soften and caramelize.  Add the chicken to the pan, browning the sides.

Pour the chicken broth and plum wine into the pan with the chicken and onions, mix well.  Bring mixture to a boil, then reduce to a simmer.  Cover and allow mixture to simmer for 15 minutes, then remove the cover and simmer an additional 10 minutes, or until the sauce has reduced by half.  Add the sliced red bell pepper and green onions, stir well.

Cook an additional 5 minutes.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Transfer to a serving plate, drizzle with sauce from the pan, garnish with parsley flakes and serve.

Serves 4.

Plum wine chicken, top